Townlands and Place Names
Until 1725, the district of MaghRath (Moira) was included in the Parish of Magheralin. Hence, many of the old townlands are not now part of this Parish and some have totally disappeared. The study of the meanings of the townlandnames, provides a valuable insight into the past. Derived from topographical descriptions, or owners of the land, they often also record important events in history.
A number of difficulties arise in researching the meanings of townlands. The Gaelic language was brought to Scotland by one DalRiada of Co. Antrim between 500-700 AD. As place names in Gaelic are for the most part over l,000 years old, it is most likely that the Gaelic spoken in Ireland and Scotland was identical at the time of their inception. However, today in order to discover the meanings of our place names, research into both linguistic traditions is necessary in order to translate them with any success.
Pronunciations have changed considerably throughout the centuries and this poses another major problem for those engaged in the task of translating or discovering the meanings of place names. This problem in particular was one which concerned `O'Donovan in 1834. Commissioned by the `Great Survey of Ireland' to ascertain the meanings of townland names, he visited Magheralin. The real difficulties with pronunciation are evidenced in the following account by O'Donovan.
"I got him (Rev. B. W. Dolling) to pronounce the names of townlands within the Parish and he did so after his own English manner, seeing which, I told him I should hear a native of the Parish pronounce them. He then sent for his Parish schoolmaster Robert McVeagh, a man of great literary acquirements who in the very middle of Ultonian slang has acquired a correct pronunciation of English, but this is owing to his intercourse with the Rector."
Until the early 19th Century it was still common to find those in the Parish who continued to speak the Irish language, but by the mid 1800's, the language had died out completely. Robert McVeagh indicated to O'Donovan "There is not one now in the neighbourhood who understands a sentence of it."
SOME SUGGESTED MEANINGS OF THE
TOWNLANDS OF MAGHERALIN
ClankelVoragh = The Meadow of the Servant of Mary Derrylisnahavil
DireliosnaSanhail. = Oakwood of the fort of the bard
Donegrcadh Dun nanGiorria = Fort of the hares
BallylenyBaileAonaigh = Place of the fair
AnLios Min = The level fort
Dromlainn = The hillocks
Baile Mac a t-Saoir = Home of the MacAteers (sons of the mason)
TulachnaCroise = Hill of the Cross (probably a stone cross)
TeachRathain = House in the fort
BaileMhicMiadhachain*Home of the Mac Meekins (*McLysaght=Irish surnames)
BaileMhicFhionn* Home of the Maginn (*McLysaght =Irish surnames)
CillFulachta = Church of the cooking place
BaileCaol Narrow homestead Kirk Cassach Church of St. Cassock'?
AnEadanMor = The Great Hillside
BaileMhicEonain Home of the McKeonans
DromRua = Red Hill
DromCro = Hill of the byre/fold
BailenaDronn = Homestead of the hillocks
LiosnaSeanachair = Fort of the charms/spells (Scots Gaelic)Clochar
Stone building or monastery
DromnaFearraidh = Hill of the violence (Scots Gaelic)
GortRois Tillage plot in woods Fianadh
Moor Grass (Scots Gaelic)
TeachLonaigh House of greed (Scots Gaelic)
BaileMhicBraonain House of the Brennans Place of the Bird Screeching
DrumnabreezeDromnaBriosg Hill of the leap? (Scots Gaelic)
EdenballycogillEadanBaileanCogaill Hillside home of the battle
TullyanaghanTullachAnachain Hill of misery or Tullach an Achain Hill of the prayer
BallymcbredianBaileMhicBridin Home of the Bredins
THE DUCKS OF MAGHERALIN
It's just a year ago today, I went to see the Queen,
She dressed me up in satin and the colour it was green,
She dressed me up in medals but they were made of tin,
Says she `go home' you crater, you're the Mayor of Magheralin.
Oh it is a fine old City in the real old fashioned style,
A credit to sweet CountyDown, the pride of the Emerald Isle,
It was the finest harbour for the bread carts to sail in, And if ever you go to Ireland, you'll sail by Magheralin.
Oh you've heard about Napoleon, Napoleon Bonaparte,
He conquered half of Europe but left the other part,
He tried to conquer Ireland but she would not give in,
And he died in St. Helena when he thought of Maralin.
Oh you've heard of Cleopatra, the treasure of the Nile,
And how she conquered Tony with one alluring smile,
She tried to conquer Ireland but they would not give in,
And they beat her out with cabbage leaves from the town of Magheralin.
Oh you've heard of good King William, King William crossed the Boyne,
With a thousand balls of wax and a thousand balls of twine,
And then he gave the order for the cobblers to begin,
For to make ten thousand pairs of boots for the Ducks of Magheralin.
Oh you've heard of Mussolini, that great Italian bum,
And how his troops in Africa were always on the run,
You've heard of Winston Churchill, he always wore a grin,
For he knew the Ulster rifles were all born in Magheralin.
More recent Place Names
STIRABOUT ROW AND DUCK STREET
Sadly now gone this was the row of houses which led into Duck Street, on the main Magheralin/Donacloney road, just past the ParishChurch. The houses here were tall and occupied by weavers who used duck grease on their looms. The name `Stirabout Row' is said to have originated through the following story. The weavers made up a mixture of flour, water and meal, then `stirred it about' and applied it as a dressing on the yarn to prevent the threads from breaking. Hence, the names `Stirabout Row' and `Duck Street.' To this day, the name Duck Street is used to refer to the South Transept in the Church and perhaps it is this derivation which has ensured the village its fame — immortalised in the song `The Ducks of Magheralin.'
This row of seven houses is situated just on the outskirts of the village boundary on the right hand side of the road towards Belfast. A certain Mr. Solomon Wells built these houses. The row after a time was known as `Solomon's Temple' and later, when `Solomon' was dropped was known simply as `The Temple.'
The famous row of white houses opposite the petrol station has been recently demolished to allow for developments and road improvements. The name was derived from the houses which were built with flint stones, which had been dug out of a quarry behind. The village post office was located at Flinty Row, and was `yellow' washed to distinguish it from the other small `white-washed' houses. A Mrs. McVeigh (Liza Jane) was the sub-post mistress and her daughter was the Post Woman. Around the turn of the Century, Tom Malcolmson took over the sub-post office. Tom's son Bob succeeded him and later his wife and daughter took over his duties. The Post Office was then located opposite the Minor Hall, but has recently returned to its original site on the Main Street in Magheralin.
KILN EYE WELL
The site of the petrol station is reputed to be over a well which was known as the Kiln Eye. The name may well be derived from the existence of a major lime kiln at Ballymackeonan, which is beyond the village on the Moira road. The villagers drew their water from this well before pumps were erected in the village - one at Duck Street another adjacent to Flinty Row and later, a third one at Clarendon Park.
SQUEEZE — GUT ENTRY
This name was no doubt derived from the fact that the alley was no place for the somewhat full of figure! It was situated close to Flinty Row and the narrowness of the entry gives a topographical derivation of the name.
THE SPOUT MEADOW
Not commonly known in the village today, this meadow extends from the Belfast Road as far as the Steps Road.ClarendonPark is now situated on `Spout Meadow.'
This housing development was built during the early 1950's. At this time it largely facilitated the employees of `The Bovril,' now known as Ex-press Dairies. The estate name was after the much loved Dean Clarendon.
"THE VILLAGE THAT MOVED AWAY FROM FLINTY ROW"
The housing development MalcolmsonPark, was named after Bob Malcolmson, the well known Post Master in Magheralin for many years. Florence-ville, also built around the same time was named in memory of the much loved Florence Megarrell.
NewforgePark, Regents Wood, Parklands, Elmhurst and Heather's Close are all more recently constructed developments which have ensured that the main centre of the population has moved firmly away from the Lurgan/Belfast Road. The village is now firmly established `down the hill' in the LaganValley.
Famous Personalities — Associated with Magheralin
A number of famous personalities are associated with Magheralin. Not least of these is John Macoun born in the village on 17th April, 1831 and who emigrated to Canada in 1851. Like many others, the potato famine of the previous years had influenced his decision to leave Ireland. John attended the LancastrianSchool in the village, but left with scant formal education. At the age of 20 he travelled to Canada with his mother and brother. Twenty-two years later he had become a Professor of Natural History in AlbertCollege, Belleville,Ontario, and had won for himself a widespread reputation as a botanist and explorer.
He explored huge tracts of the north-west of Canada and it was largely due to his research and expertise that the proposed route of the Canadian Pacific Railway was abandoned. In 1861 a more Southerly route was suggested by Macoun and this decision changed the map of Canada and influenced the lives of millions of Canadians. John's father James married Ann Jane Neven in 1824. The story is told that Miss Neven was a Presbyterian and the marriage ceremony was performed in the home of a Presbyterian minister who was related to her. However the church records indicate that a second marriage took place. The marriage register indicates:
"2nd August, 1824. Marriage by licence, James Macoun, Widower, and Anne Jane Neven, spinster, both of this Parish".
Apparently both parties expressed concern that the first marriage might not be legal and fearing this, they resorted to the ParishChurch and had the ceremony performed over again. Today we may smile at such an incident, however during this period, the question of the validity of all such marriages caused considerable alarm. As late as 1840 the Armagh Consistorial Court decided that a marriage between a Presbyterian and an Episcopalian, performed by a Presbyterian Minister was indeed illegal.
In the light of this it is quite understandable that James Macoun and Ann Neven were concerned.
The house they lived in was left to James. John describes it in his autobiography, as having a stone over the doorway bearing the date 1708. The garden contained rare and beautiful shrubs which his mother sold, after the death of his father in 1836. This house was demolished sometime after 1851.
Almost forgotten now, in Magheralin, John Macoun's name is still fresh in Canada. His memory is perpetuated by the town of Macoun in sound Saskatchewan, MountMacoun in GreatGlacierPark in the Selkirk mountains and by LakeMacoun in North Saskatchewan. He is featured in four histories of the railway and forty-eight species of plants discovered by him, bear his name.
SIR JOHN LAVERY, R.A. — ULSTER ARTIST
In 1856, five years after John Macounemigrated to Canada, John Lavery was born. His family lived in Belfast, where his father had a spirit shop. Obviously, in an effort to escape from the terrible conditions which prevailed at that time, John's father emigrated to America in the hope of sending for his wife and child at a later stage, when his fortunes might change. This decision led to an even more tragic occurrence. The father was lost at sea with 386 other passengers, when the Pomona sank off the WexfordCoast. Stricken by grief and poverty John's mother died and he was adopted by his uncle Richard Lavery, a Soldierstown farmer.
John's association with Magheralin is that he attended the village NationalSchool. He is reputed to have detested arithmetic. Presumably even at an early age his talents were orientated towards a more creative bent — his lack of interest in maths may have been what precipitated his premature escape from school. It is recorded that he left school and took a job as a checker of railway wagons. Later he secured a job as a re-toucher in a studio. From such an ill-fated beginning, the orphan boy rose to become one of the greatest artists of his time. He became president of the Royal Society of Portrait Painters; a member of the RoyalHibernianAcademy,Dublin and of the Academies of Rome, Antwerp, Milan, Brussels and Stockholm.
Knighted in 1918, he later became a Freeman of Belfast and of Dublin. Sir John was commissioned to paint the Royal Family, including Queen Victoria. He also designed the first paper currency of the Irish Free State.
Sir John died in 1941. His works are exhibited in art galleries all over the world.
THE CHRISTIE-MILLER FAMILY
The marriage between a certain Mr. Christie-Miller of Essex in 1872, to Mary Elizabeth Richardson, of Kircassock, was a most fortuitous one for the Parish of Magheralin. It is almost entirely due to the great generosity of Mr. and Mrs. Christie-Miller, that we are today celebrating the 100th anniversary of our beautiful Church.
Mr. Christie-Miller was the son of Mr. Thomas Christy of Bloomfield, Essex, head of the renowned Hatters of London and Stockport. His mother was a native of Ulster, a daughter of Mr. Thomas Christy Wakefield, of Moyallon, Co. Down. Mary Elizabeth Richardson was the daughter of Mr. Joseph Jonathan Richardson of Kircassock, who represented the Borough of Lisburn in Parliament for many years. Since the purchase of Kircassock after 1780, the family retained close connections with the ParishChurch.
Wakefield Christy was born in 1835. The name of Miller was only assumed when Mr. Christy inherited the valuable property in Buckingham-shire from Mr. Miller of Britwell Court, Maidenhead. He changed his name by Royal Licence to Christie-Miller.
Though the Christie-Millers resided principally in England, the summer months were spent at Kircassock. Local people recount the story of the `entourage' of servants and trunks which characterised their return each year. To a rural people in the late 19th Century this procession was quite a spectacle. The horses and carriages met the Christie-Miller family and their servants at Lurgan Railway Station and townsfolk and country people alike, gathered to watch the procession as it made its way to Kircassock.
Mr. Wakefield Christie-Miller 1835—1898
Brought up as a Quaker, Christie-Miller was an evangelical and `low church' man. Despite allegations to the contrary he was opposed to extremes in ritual and doctrine and accepted the Church of Ireland because of its low Anglican Church.
Almost 18 months before the `reredos incident' the Christie-Millers wrote to Dean Clarendon commenting:
"We do like beauty in the House of God but anything approaching HighChurch we both dislike extremely."
It is ironic that the generosity of the Christie-Millers met with such ignorance. Nothing was more averse to their thinking than the charges of `popery' and `Ritualism'. Further proof of this is evidenced when a new high vicar was appointed to the ParishChurch in Stockport, where the Christie-Millers worshipped. The appointment resulted in much turmoil and resistance. Christie-Miller, opposed to the ritualism, financed the building of a new church, St. George's, in Stockport, which was one of the biggest Parish Churches in England, built at that time.
Christie-Miller's automobile — the first car to travel along the country lanes
and roads of Magheralin.
LT. COL. E. H. BRUSH, C.B., D.S.O., O.B.E.
One of the most prominent members of the parish was Peter Brush of Drumnabreeze, who was born in Fermoy, in Co. Cork, on 5th March, 1901, and died in Dublin on 22nd July, 1984. Peter Brush spent his early teenage years on his father's citrus farm in Canada and then stayed with his aunts in Drumnabreeze when his father joined up in 1914. He was educated at CliftonPublic School and Sandhurst, joining the Rifle Brigade, on passing out in 1919.
Stationed for a time in Ballsbridge Showground in Dublin in 1921 during the Irish Civil War, he did duty at PhoenixPark, The Bank of Ireland, the North Wall and the Custom House.
Peter Brush spent some time in India in 1925 and, in 1927, he was transferred to the King's African Rifles with whom he spent five years in Uganda and Kenya. On Safari, while following up a wounded leopard, his African companion shot the animal dead as it sank its teeth into Peter's calf. Peter later returned home to become Aide-de-Camp to General Sir Jock Burnett-Stuart.
In 1937 Peter married Susan and was stationed at Tidworth in Surrey until the outbreak of the Second World War.
In May, 1940, Major Peter Brush, with The Rifle Brigade, took part in the defence of Calais.AireyNeave, in his book, `The Flames of Calais', describes the last-ditch stand at Calais which it is thought contributed in no small measure to the evacuation of large numbers of troops from Dunkirk. Peter Brush was mentioned several times in `The Flames of Calais' which pro-trays him as a brave and resourceful officer. Three times wounded and out of ammunition, he was captured by the Germans and spent the next five years in various prisoner-of-war camps in Germany and Poland.
On one occasion, he and another officer succeeded in escaping and, travelling only at night, got close to the Swiss border before being recaptured. He was punished with 28 days of solitary confinement. He was eventually released by the American First Division in 1945. In 1946 he retired from the Army with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel to become a farmer at Drumnabreeze near Magheralin.
Peter Brush became a prominent member of the ParishChurch in Magheralin, serving on the Select Vestry for some time. For 20 years he served on the Diocesan Council of Down and Dromore.
During his lifetime, Colonel Brush held many prominent positions in the community. In 1953, as High Sheriff of Co. Down, he and his wife attended the Coronation of Queen Elizabeth II in Westminster Abbey. As Vice-Lieutenant, they dined on the Royal Yacht when the Queen visited Belfast. In 1954 he was appointed Chairman of the T.A. and held that office for eleven years. He became the Representative Chairman for Northern Ireland on the Executive Committee of the same organisation in London. In 1950 and 1960, he was Chief Steward of the Hunter Ring at the Royal Show at Balmoral. Colonel Brush was also President of the Co. Down Unionist Party and was elected to the Convention in 1975.
Peter Brush was an officer and a gentleman. He was a man who, in the words of Rudyard Kipling's poem "If", could "talk with crowds and keep (his) virtue or walk with kings — nor lose the common touch".
Sadly, he passed away on 22nd July, 1984.
THE WADDELL FAMILY
One of the oldest family names in the parish is the Waddell family. Cosslett, the third son of Robert Waddell of `Islandderry', settled at `Drumcro' around 1760 with his new bride Miss Hamilton of `The Hink'. Their son, Robert, built Newforge House in the 1790's for £3,000.
Cosslett's grandson, Robert Cosslett, married Moira Langtry of Kilmore. They had seven children including Florence and Clara who were unmarried and Edith who married Rev. Charles Quin, a former rector of Derriaghy. Their son, Cosslett, has now retired from the ministry. He is renowned for his translation of Hymn 321:
`O fair is the Lord's own city, With clearest light abloom, And full of joy and music, Where woe can never come.'
Herbert was rector of Greyabbey and a botanist. George was an engineer on the Clogher Valley Railway and Robert remained a bachelor living at Drumcro. Alfred married twice, firstly to Margaret Mawhinney and secondly to Elizabeth Lecky. He built `Dairyview' in the early years of this century. Of the seven children of Alfred and Margaret, George and Cosslett settled in Canada, Frederick and Eileen in New Zealand. Doreen died shortly after her marriage. Alfred spent his working life in Belfast and returned to live in this area. Charles lived on the Dromore Road.
Alfred and Elizabeth's two children was Thomas who lived at Dairyview and Emily who married Robert Mathers of Newforge. Alfred died in 1937.
The Waddell family retained close connections with the church throughout the centuries.
Robert Waddell Churchwarden 1883 and 1884
THE GREER FAMILY
In 1914, St. Saviour's Church was erected (the upper storey of the Dolling Memorial Hall) in memory of Mrs. Eleanor Greer of `The Wilderness', who for many years had worked tirelessly in the Parish, and particularly in Dollingstown. Her son, Major Greer, and her two daughters, Miss Anna Greer and Miss Eleanor Greer, were also devoted workers in the Church. For many years, Major Greer was a member of the Select Vestry. His sister, Miss Anna Greer, worked as a missionary at Fukien in China for several years.
She came home on furlough and never returned, having found a mission field on her own doorstep. With Mrs. Watson of BeechPark, she opened a Sunday School for young people and a Bible Class for adults.
Miss Eleanor Greer was a Sunday School teacher in Dollingstown and for many years played the harmonium at Dollingstown evening service until she retired due to ill health. Dean Clarendon, in his book "A Fifty Years Ministry" recalls their "life long devotion" to the Parish.
The Greers left The Wilderness in 1918 to live at `Oakley' in Lurgan. The Greer sisters could often be seen selling flowers in North Street to raise money for Missions.
Miss Anna Greer in Chinese costume July 1921
with picture of the church at Dollingstown.
A Century of Church Minutes (1891-1991)
March 1891 — Churchwardens are asked to report on subject of church stable. November 1892 — Samuel Dawson appointed as Sexton. Salary agreed £12 per year April 1893 — Resolution against Home Rule for Ireland was passed unanimously. November 1894 — Plans of alteration to Reredos finally accepted and passed.
April 1895 — Reredos causes further consternation and discussion. Plans now unacceptable.
October 1896 — Vote of thanks passed to Mr. Christie-Miller for sup-plying footscrappers for the church.
May 1897 — Proposal to place sandbags at the bottom of doors in church to eliminate draughts. September 1898 — Resolution passed to reset coping stones on the church wall-which had been removed by a runaway horse and carriage.
October 1899 — Churchwardens are authorised to prosecute Samuel --, Samuel --, Edward -- and Robert -- for brawling in church on
Sunday morning 1st October. (Fortunately prosecution was averted. An ample apology is recorded in the minutes of 6th November and a guarantee given that such an offence will not be repeated).
October 1900 — Decision taken to register a protest against the establishment of a police barracks in Magheralin.
December 1901 — Resolution passed that the church be properly heated on Saturday afternoon and the fires be raked during the night and be raised up not later than 7.00 a.m. on Sunday.
June 1902 — Proposed scheme for repairs to rectory passed on condition that if parish is unable to pay the annual instalments then the rector should be held responsible.
February 1903 — Report that during the recent storm, water had leaked through the walls of the tower and damaged the organ.
April 1904 — Resolution - that anyone caught disrupting any meeting in the schoolroom would be prosecuted.
April 1905 — Notice given that the school of Grace-Hall Cottage in the Parish has ceased to exist.
June 1906 — Revision of prices for plots in graveyard. East side of church £1.00 or £2.10.0 for 3. West, North & South sides £2.10.0 per grave.
August 1907 — Curate, sexton, organblower and schoolteacher, to be insured against accident for one year.
May 1908 — Reported that Sexton was absent from his duty on Sunday 10th., in consequence of having drink taken.
April 1909 — Meeting to discuss sanitary arrangements in connection with Dollingstown new school.
April 1910 — Proposal to employ a woman to wash out the church as Sexton is in bad health.
February 1911 — Resolved that 10 cwt of good English slack coal be obtained to mix with coal, as an experiment in heating the church.
February 1912 — Complaints concerning Sexton - in lighting the lamps in Church, backs of pews had been scored by boot nails — some of the lamps had been overfilled and leaked oil.
March 1913 — Dean Clarendon completing 30 years ministry in the Parish.
July 1914 — Suffragettes threaten an attack on Churches. Magheralin Co. of U.V.F. promise to supply a watch for the church.
August 1915 — Queen Street Methodist minister, granted use of Dolling Memorial Hall once a month to hold meetings.
April 1916 — Discussion on curate's salary during his absence as a soldier. Dean Clarendon explains his son's position as a captain which he said was quite different to a chaplain and he was therefore not entitled to a salary.
February 1917 — Appeal to Diocesan council to sanction representative body to grant the amount of curates stipend during his absence war.
April 1918 — Vestry receives application from Sexton for increase in salary owing to the high cost of living in consequence of the war (May 1918
- Vestry awards £1 war bonus as a result of above application).
July 1919 — Resolved that the comrades of the Great War club, be granted use of the parish rooms.
February 1920 — Salary of Organblower, Miss F. Dawson, is increased to £5 per year.
March 1921 — Report from Council of General Synod that Magheralin Parish has been placed in No. 1 Division (Parishes or union of parishes in which the minimum stipend re. Clerical incomes, is secure).
October 1922 — Discussion on fuel for heating the church.Decision to order one ton of coke and one ton of coal.
July 1923 — Account presented for repairs to DollingstownSchool £14.16.6. Decision taken by Vestry to settle for the sum of £10 only and secretary directed to enclose a note stating that the amount demanded was extortionate considering the quality of material used.
April 1924 — Reference made to death of T. J. Archer, who had taught for 37 years in Lisnasureschool.
June 1925 — Resolved that Sexton's salary be raised from £2.10.0 per annum to £4.00 per annum.
April 1926 — Amount spent on repairs to church property over a period of five years estimated at £42.7.8.
July 1927 — Vestry accepts tender of Mr. J. Johnston for £395 for in-stalling electricity in church and rectory.
June 1928 — Resolution passed to use rail transport for Parish excursion to Warrenpoint - 11th August.
April 1929 — Dean Clarendon reports an improvement in the King's health. "The nation has passed through a very anxious time, but the prayers offered in all the churches of the Empire have been abundantly answered."
November 1930 — Chairman informs Select Vestry of Dean Clarendon's resignation.
October 1931 — Decision to advertise for an organist at a salary of £20 per year.
July 1932 — Secretary indicates prices of buses for proposed Sunday School excursion. G.N.R. hire of bus to Bangor £6.B.O.C., £4.10.0.
October 1933 — Request to Down County Regional Education Committee for permission to instal electric light in village school.
April 1934 — Chairman reports approx 30 teachers in four sunday schools in the Parish.
August 1935 Vestry receives quotation of £78 for Holy Table as memorial to Dean Clarendon.
January 1936 — Vestry cancels contract of Holy Table. Dissatisfaction over correct toning and finishing.
Octoer 1937 — Quotations received for coke, Messrs Green 46/6 per ton; Messrs Hewitt 49/= per ton.
March 1938 (Easter Vestry) — Treasurer reports debit balance of £31.18.l Chairman indicates that there has been much unemployment and consequently the church has suffered.
October 1939 — Vestry indicates inability to comply with Civil Defence regulations on lighting restrictions in church buildings. Decision taken to hold church services at earlier hour of 4 o'clock.
September 1940 — Rector reports that the canteen recently opened at Dollingstown for the entertainment of H.M. Forces, is most successful.
May 1941 — Indication that arrangements made for evacuees at DrumlinSchool are proceeding satisfactorily.
June 1942 — Permission granted to evacuees occupying BeechparkSchool to instal a stove.
January 1943 — Rector reports that main room in MaralinSchool is now fitted with black-out curtains to comply with Civil Defence regulations.
April 1944 — Announcement of retirement of Miss J. Johnston, Prin‑
cipal of DollingstownSchool. (She continues to strike fear at the hearts of grown men
today! Before being permitted to enter the classroom one morning a parishioner was cuffed around the ears and sent home to pull the dandelion growing by his gate which had not escaped Miss Johnston's eagle eye that morning. She was known by her pupils as the sergeant major of Dollingstown).
November 1945 — Application to Moira Rural Council to undertake the cost of lighting the church clock is turned down
November 1946 — Unanimous decision taken, "That the Rector be authorised to place an order for a new car."
April 1947 — Rector reports that Dollingstown has a new modern kitchen with equipment.
April 1948 — Rector records attendances of over 100 at Drumnaferry Bible Class.
April 1949 — Recurring expenditure on old Rectory is debated. Rev. G. A.Quin
asserts, that despite the sentiment attached to the old building it would have to be replaced.
JANUARY 1950 — In response to complaints about cold in church, Vestry request Sexton to light fire on Thursday.
April 1951 — Resolution passed that the starting salary of new rector should be £625 per annum.
April 1952 — Vestry men keep vigil at old Rectory in hope of apprehending thieves. However, "operation Vestrymen" is reported unsuccessful.
May 1953 — Decision to remove two fir trees and one holly tree to facilitate building of new rectory.
January 1954 — Rector. Rev. A. J. Douglas, takes up residence in new rectory.
December 1955 — Report that 280 children are eligible for Sunday School prizes.
December 1956 — Proposal made to curtainbaptistry.
May 1957 — Select Vestry accepts offer of £275 from education authority for site of new primary school - area 3 roods and 20 perches.
October 1958 — Vestry advised that electricity will soon be brought to Lisnasure. Discussion on wiring Lisnasure Hall.
March 1959 — Report that Sun-Dial, which had stood in grounds of Kirkcassock House, has now been moved to the churchyard.
December 1960 — New Sexton appointed at a salary of £5.5.0 per week.
February 1961 — Messrs J. W. Walker & Sons Ltd inform vestry of increase of 8/= for tuning and maintenance work to organ. Charges now £4.12.0 per visit.
September 1962 — Proposal to build new Parochial Hall.
June 1963 — Deliberation about feasibility of purchasing a vacuum cleaner for the church.
May 1964 — Rev. P. J. Synnott informs Vestry that MagheralinChurch has been officially listed as a church of outstanding architectural merit.
January 1965 — Stewardship committee report the purchase of a duplicating machine to facilitate production of the parish magazine. Indication of cost estimated at £4 per 400 copies.
February 1966 — Miss Florrie Dawson retires from teaching Sunday school after more than 50 years.
April 1967 — Rev. P. J. Synnott reports that hall is being used almost every night of the week.
November 1968 — Indication that the new choir robing room (under church vestry) is now complete (Choir previously robed in Parochial Hall).
July 1969 — Agreement that Select Vestry should enter into an annual maintenance contract with Messrs. Smith & Co. Derby for the church clock. Cost £13 per annum.
May 1970 — Decision taken to proceed with plans to renovate St. Saviour's.
September 1971 — Vestry meet to consider placing wire grills on hall windows for protection against petrol bombers.
November 1972 — Letter received from Smith & Co., Derby, indicating that their staff are withdrawn from Northern Ireland contracts at present due to the troubles.
April 1973 (Easter Vestry) — Rev. P. J. Synnott outlines the state of the province in which "There is a social and political revolution with growing disrespect for law and order."
April 1974 — Resolution passed that "In the interest of the children during the unsettled political climate to cancel the S.S. Excursion toBangor."
March 1975 — Proposal to make a car park in church grounds.November 1976 — Dollingstown church re-opened by Bishop.
March 1977 — Meeting called to discuss purchase of a bus for the church.
March 1978 — Vestry registers concern on the proposed changes in the law regarding homosexuality. Resolved that a letter of protest be written to the Minister at Stormont.
March 1979 — Rector Rev. R.L. Hutchinson, refers to terrorism in the province. During previous fortnight twelve members of the security forces had been murdered. "It is our duty to continue to pray for deliverance from our enemies and to pray for an era of peace when our people are free to go to their work, to their leisure or sport unmolested."
December 1980 — Secretary requested to write to Diocesan Council to protest about appalling sex programmes on television.
April 1981 — Report that MagheralinParishChurch is now registered as a building of historical interest.
September 1982 — Rev. R. L. Hutchinson reports that a bell has been acquired for DollingstownChurch (weighs approx 3 cwts).
April 1983 — Vestry registers their gratitude for the gift of new recording technology to improve tape ministry.
June 1984 — Resolution passed that new choir rooms and Vestry, should be named "The Hutchinson Suite."
November 1985 — Rector proposed the development of the area of the Sexton's House and Garden for building of 21 pensioner's dwellings.
January 1986 — Select Vestry congratulates Rev. R. L. Hutchinson on his appointment as Canon of Dromore Cathedral. (First time since Dean Clarendon that an incumbent had been honoured, but it is also noteworthy that all the rectors of Magheralin have subsequently been honoured in some way).
January 1987 — Decision taken by Vestry to purchase an Amstrad Computer Price £1,632.
December 1988 — Report that representatives from Craigavon Borough Council are sympathetic to the Vestry's application for installation of new clock face for church.
June 1989 — Rev. David McClay proposed to walk from Ballintra in Co. Donegal to Magheralin to raise money for Centenary Fund target for sponsorship was £3,000.
April 1990 — Report that the Centenary Appeal launched in April 1989 had raised £53,400 in first year.
April 1991 — (A fitting conclusion to 100 years extracts from the minutes) Report that the clock has been restored. At a service on Easter Sun-day - The Mayor of Craigavon, Alderman James McCammick, and some councillors were in attendance.